Rate My PlayList

Justin’s Playlist II – Alternative First Dance Songs

In Rate My Playlist on July 28, 2009 at 7:47 pm

If I ever get married (which is doubtful),  most of these songs will be featured on my wedding playlist…including the anti-love song by Joy Division.  I definitely didn’t go as alternative as I could have, but I think this playlist has a good mix of sappy and different.  I don’t think i can go as far as to say it is the perfect mix, but i think it is close.  You get a little classic, a little nu-classic, a little blues-classic, and a little anti-love love song classic!  Enjoy!

Free mp3:  Justin’s Alternative First Dance Songs

1. Song for the Asking – Simon and Garfunkel

2. That Teenage Feeling – Neko Case

3.  First Day of My Life – Bright Eyes

4. Ice Cream – Sarah Mclachlan

5. Forever and Ever, Amen – Randy Travis

6. Queen Bee – Taj Mahal

7.  In love with you – Erykah Badu and Steven Marley

8. Like a star – Corrinne Bailey Rae

9.  Maps – Yeah Yeah Yeahs

10. Love will tear us apart –  Joy Division

  1. my alternative first-dance songs include: first day of spring (gandharvas), fake plastic trees (radiohead), and lovers’ day (tv on the radio). props to ryan for the TVOTR lovin’. props to benks for taking the anti-love stance.

    • Not fair, I threw in an anti-love song too…and a TV on the Radio song. Benko, quit paying people off.

      • Ryan, I didn’t cry when your best songs ever trounced me. I won’t cry if your Alternative first-dance songs beat me either. Stop accusing me of paying people off, we both know i am too poor and don’t have enough friends to beat you anyway.

      • I’m not crying…I’m confident that people will listen to the lists and then vote with their heads instead of their hearts. Although you don’t have a lot of real-life friends, your facebook account tells me that you might have some misguided online acquaintances.

  2. Oh yeah, the facebook friends helps a lot. P.S. I just had my dj friend at CJSR talk about our site. She bashed us both and said that it is impossible to rate such a subjective thing, but she said she voted for me!

  3. “If I ever get married (which is doubtful)”-Justin

    WHAT!??
    I thought we were getting married in Morinville?
    you’re breaking my heart Benko 😛

  4. […] Continued here: Justin's Playlist II – Alternative First Dance Songs « Rate My … […]

  5. Ice Cream might just win this one for you all on its own, but First Day of My Life and In Love With You lock the win down. Have to say though that that Randy Travis gem isn’t exactly alternative in these here parts.

  6. Oh right, and I was going to play the game and throw out my picks for alt first dance songs.
    Sea of Love – Cat Power
    Whole Wide World – Wreckless Eric (c’mon.. that scene in Stranger than Fiction… too cute)
    I Only Have Eyes For You – Martina Topley-Bird (very ethereal cover of the Motown classic)
    Un p’tit tour – Les Cowboys Fringants (this one’s for you, Jenna)
    Even When I’m Sleeping – Leonardo’s Bride
    The Wedding Song – Ken Johns (don’t know its actual title, but it’s the song my bro-in-law wrote after his first date with my sister, and it played as she walked down the aisle in Vegas; yeah, beat that, guys.)
    Jenna, I’m waiting for your list with baited breath…

  7. It?s in reality a great and helpful piece of info. I am happy that you simply shared this useful information with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

