Rate My PlayList

Justin’s Playlist I – Best Songs Ever

In Rate My Playlist on July 12, 2009 at 11:45 pm

It was nearly impossible to create the “Best Songs Ever” playlist.  Do you try to create a playlist that recognizes different genres, songs that changed how music was produced, or songs that affected you personally?  I’ve created a play list that has both personal significance and historical significance.   I hope you like it… and I expect to see your top 10 in the comments section.

Justin – Best Songs Ever

1. Oh! You Pretty Things – David Bowie

2. Hyperballad – Bjork

3. Hanging on the Telephone – Blondie

4. Panic – The Smiths

5. Heart of Gold – Neil Young

6. Elephant Gun – Beirut

7. The Boxer – Simon and Garfunkel

8. Don’t Worry Baby – The Beach Boys

9. What’d I Say – Ray Charles

10. Take Me to the River – Al Green

  1. There is a problem with What’d I say, by Ray. It cuts off early. We will fix and have the whole song available for download shortly.

  2. Young and Blondie is an ace combo. Too bad you missed Flaming Lips, Dylan, T Rex, and Fleetwood Mac.

  3. oh yah, and The Breeders.

  4. Justin, those are some inspired choices in The Boxer, Heart of Gold, and What’d I Say. Pretty tough to narrow down 10 choices for this particular theme, but for your listening pleasure (or rather, mine)here are my top 10 best songs ever:
    – Ain’t No Sunshine by Bill Withers
    – At Last by Etta James
    – Koop Islands Blues by Koop
    – Roller by Monkeybacon
    – Good Woman by Cat Power
    – Nocturne in E flat major by Chopin
    – Extraordinary Machine by Fiona Apple
    – Tonight You Belong To Me by Josh Ritter
    – 32 Flavors by Ani Difranco
    – Home Soon (The Cherry Song) by Sarah Harmer

    I surprised myself by who ended up on my shortlist of 30 songs or so: Django Reinhardt, Edith Piaf, Bonnie Raitt, Corb Lund, Nirvana, and even the Archies.

    Some themes I’d like to see for future weeks: Hip-Hop, Female singer/songwriters, Canadiana (post-1990 and pre-1990), Folk, and RIP (dead bands/lead singers)

    Great idea, guys. Keep it up!

    • I’ve been looking for the name of that sarah harmer song forever! Thanks Carlynn… that song always gets to me

  5. Thanks for the themes. I think the RIP one could find it’s way into the rotation very soon. As for your Top 10, good stuff. I haven’t heard of a few of those songs so I will certainly be looking into them. Lots of more current songs though.

  6. This was difficult but in no particular order:

    1.Sitting on the Dock of the Bay-Ottis
    2.Don’t think Twice It’s Alright-Bob Dylan
    3.Intergalactic-The Beastie Boys
    4.Jesus, Etc-Wilco
    5.I Lost My Baby-Jean Leloup
    6.Southern Girl-Erykah Badu
    7.Oh What a World-Rufus Wainwright
    8.Songbird-Oasis
    9.Very Superstitious-Stevie Wonder
    10.Whiskey River-Willie Nelson

  7. This is a great idea, and I can see it at work … theme idea – cover songs better than the originals (ie. Joe Cocker)

Leave a Reply

